Cross-Border Coffee Break: Meeting Blockchain's Potential: An Interdisciplinary Research Approach

Map Unavailable

Date/Time
21 May 2019
10:00

Location
Zoom Platform

Blockchain, a technology that has decentralized the financial markets has been running the world’s first cryptocurrency for 10 years now, has made us rethink and redefine trust. It is also a technology still in development that needs testing and research in order to fulfill its potential.

The goal of the Research Institute for Cryptoeconomics is to bundle the interdisciplinary competence of the Vienna University of Economics and Business. Only through an interdisciplinary approach, combining the technical possibilities together with economic, social and legal aspects, the potential of this new technology can be met. The institute researches blockchain technology through applied projects on one hand, and by having 28 professors and researchers assigned to it on the other.

In this webinar, the institute’s current projects and research activities will be presented, explaining the state of blockchain in academia and its approach to researching ecosystems around distributed ledger technologies.

 

Date

May 21, 2019
10:00am EDT

  • (9:00am Lima)
  • (4:00pm Paris)
  • (4:00pm Cape Town)
  • (5:00pm Nairobi)
  • (7:30pm Delhi)
  • (10:00pm Beijing)

Registration

Cost: FREE

Please register by clicking the button below.

 

 

 

Presenter

Tatjana Novakovic
Project manager on the [UN]BLOCKED project
Research Institute for Cryptoeconomics, Vienna University of Economics and Business (WU)

Tatjana first gained insights about environmental and ecological economics at Vienna University of Economics and Business (WU). Having specialized in Information Technology and Business Information Systems, she turned to blockchain technology to research its potential in helping achieve 17 Sustainable Development Goals. Together with a team at BlockchainHub Berlin, she researched projects running on blockchain technology and concluded token analyses. The need for interdisciplinarity shifted the research to the Research Institute for Cryptoeconomics at WU where she currently works as project manager on the [UN]BLOCKED project, bridging the gap between sustainability and blockchain technology.