Cross-Border Coffee Break: Responsible Gaming in Macao - From Knowledge to Practice

Map Unavailable

Date/Time
20 May 2020
04:00 - 05:00

Location
Online Webinar

Many countries have legalized gaming to increase competitiveness of their economies and tourism industries. However, the economic benefits of having gaming industry are always at the expense of social costs. Without a proper management of the social costs, sustainability of gaming industry is in doubt. Among various negative social impacts, residents’ gambling disorder issue is always at the top of regulators’ agenda. The public voice of preventing gambling disorder is salient in many gaming cities. Against this background, incorporation of responsible gaming in policy and effective implementation of related practices are indispensable in societies with gaming amenities. Macao, a world-renowned gaming destination, is not an exception as extensive effort has been devoted to responsible gaming in the last two decades. In this webinar, Macao academia’s contribution to the advancement of responsible gaming will be articulated.

Responsible gaming centers on minimizing harm caused by gaming to the society and thus prevention is the top priority. In Macao, this topic has gained scholarly attention since the liberalization of gaming industry in 2002, during which some Macao researchers concerned about residents’ gambling disorder and actively worked with different stakeholders including government, gaming operators, and NGOs to promote responsible gaming in the society. Over the years, a number of achievements have been made, including responsible gaming policy, improving public understanding of responsible gaming, train-the-trainer programs, and others. These achievements rooted in the vast body of knowledge in the literature.

It is expected that the sharing in this webinar will provide implications for scholars and other stakeholders in countries/regions which have or will have gaming industry.

Date & Time

Wednesday, May, 20, 2020

4:00am Washington D.C.

  • 8:00am London
  • 9:00am Paris
  • 11:00am Nairobi
  • 12:00pm Dubai
  • 1:30pm Mumbai
  • 3:00pm Jakarta
  • 4:00pm Macau

Registration

Cost: FREE

REGISTER

Presenter

Lawrence Hoc Nang Fong
Assistant Dean (International and External Relations)
Faculty of Business Administration at the University of Macau

Lawrence Hoc Nang Fong, Ph.D., is the Assistant Dean (International and External Relations) of the Faculty of Business Administration at the University of Macau. Dr. Fong’s research interests include cognitive bias in gambling, responsible gaming, and e-tourism. He is serving as editorial board members on multiple international peer-reviewed journals and the Asia Pacific Council on Hotel, Restaurant and Institutional Education. In addition to the academic service, he has delivered speeches in various industry conferences and participated in gambling policy research projects commissioned by the Macau S.A.R. government. He is currently a member of the Economic Development Commission, Macau S.A.R. Government.