International Student Recruitment in Times of Global Crisis: New Strategies, Innovations and Risk-Mitigation for Business Schools

Map Unavailable

Date/Time
26 May 2020
10:00 - 11:00

Location
Online Webinar

The current global crisis is nowhere else more eminent than in international student recruitment. The worldwide lockdown has thrown everything into question about the future of international student mobility, starting with the intake of autumn 2020.

This panel discussion, presented by XOLAS, Studyportals and the Global Business School Network, will seek to answer some of the most pressing questions, including:

  1. How is the global landscape for student recruitment changing?
  2. What are the trends in international student recruitment, programme development, and market positioning post-coronavirus?
  3. What are new strategies for risk-mitigation in business schools, while maintaining a high quality of students?
  4. “Safe destination countries” and how to compete in a changing market reality that is driven by new political and economic paradigms?

Date


Tuesday, May 26, 2020  

  • 10am Washington D.C.
  • 11:00am São Paulo
  • 3:00pm London
  • 4:00pm Paris
  • 5:00pm Nairobi
  • 6:00pm Dubai
  • 7:30pm Mumbai
  • 9:00pm Jakarta
  • 10:00pm Malaysia

Registration


Click the link below to join the live conversation. You will receive login information following completion of registration.

REGISTER HERE

Moderator


Mathias Falkenstein
Founding Partner
XOLAS

Mathias is Managing Partner at XOLAS, a Higher Education Consulting Firm based in Berlin, Germany. XOLAS is assisting global universities and business schools in designing and implementing institutional change, with particular attention to issues of sustainability and responsibility; quality management and internationalization. Mathias is also the Executive Policy Advisor at LUISS Business School, LUISS University, Rome (Italy).

Mathias served earlier as Director of Business School Services at the European Foundation for Management Development (EFMD) in Brussels, Director of International Relations at IÉSEG School of Management in Paris & Lille, and Director of the International Summer University at the Free University in Berlin. He previously was Program Officer at the North American headquarters of the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) in New York. Mathias is a research fellow and post-doctoral graduate at the International Centre for Higher Education Management (ICHEM) at the School of Management, University of Bath, UK.

Speakers


Andrew Jack
Global Education Editor
Financial Times

Andrew Jack has worked as a journalist for the Financial Times since 1990. He is currently the Global Education Editor, reporting and developing new projects including as editorial lead for free online FT access for schools. He previously ran the curated content team, picking the best news and analysis from the FT and the rest of the web, including FT Health. He was previously Deputy Editor of the Analysis section, Pharmaceuticals Correspondent, Moscow Bureau Chief, Paris Correspondent, Financial Correspondent, general reporter and corporate reporter. He is author of the books Inside Putin’s Russia and The French Exception, as well as numerous specialist reports, and has appeared on the BBC and other media outlets.

Thijs van Vugt
Director Analytics and Consulting
Studyportals

Thijs is Director Analytics and Consulting Team at Studyportals since 2015 and partner of iE&D Solutions BV since 2006. Some of his recent clients are: University of London, Karolisnka Institute, University of Groningn, Utrecht University, Erasmus University Rotterdam, Jönköping University, Uppsala University, VU University Amsterdam, Radboud University, University of Twente, University of the Arctic, Tromsø University, College of Europe and NHTV Breda University. From 1989 until 2005 Thijs worked for Tilburg University (14 yrs; NL), the ERASMUS Bureau in Brussels and for Sheffield Hallam University (1.5 yrs; UK).

Thijs is the founder of the Professional Section on Marketing & Recruitment of the European Association for International Education (EAIE). He was the chair of M&R from 2002 until 2008 and was a member of EAIE’s Executive Board from 2004 until 2008. In 2006 he published a book on The Impact of Tuition Fees on International Student Recruitment and in September 2009, Thijs was awarded the Bo Gregersen Award for Best Practice of the EAIE.

Sanjeev Khagram
Dean
Thunderbird School of Global Management, Arizona State University

Dr. Sanjeev Khagram is a world-renowned expert in global leadership and management, entrepreneurship and innovation, the global political economy, sustainable development, the data revolution, and the Fourth Industrial Revolution. He has worked extensively with multinational corporations, international organizations, global start-ups, governments, transnational NGOs, cross-sectoral action networks, public-private partnerships, professional associations, and universities all over the world. Dr. Khagram is Director General and Dean of Thunderbird School of Global Management at Arizona State University, ASU Foundation Professor of Global Leadership, and a member of ASU’s Global Institute of Sustainability’s board of directors.

With Khagram at the helm, Thunderbird has reinvented its founding mission of bringing peace to the world through commerce, transforming for this dynamic new era of rapid technological advancement known as the Fourth Industrial Revolution, and positioning the institution at the vanguard of management and leadership education for global business, government, and international affairs. Khagram has Thunderbird focused on empowering principled leaders across sectors with transdisciplinary skills, a global mindset, and hands-on experience so they can create inclusive and sustainable prosperity worldwide.


 

About XOLAS

XOLAS is a specialized strategy consultancy focusing on business schools globally as its client base. We believe in the role of organizational agility and resilience as drivers of institutional success – for our clients as well as for ourselves. The XOLAS consultancy offer is based on a three-pillar approach:

  1. We provide business school clients with an external market perspective of the issue at hand supported by proprietary data analytics and benchmarking.
  2. We help our clients to identify sustainable strategic responses and to subsequently design the implementation process
  3. We facilitate and support our clients’ organizational restructuring efforts to achieve revised strategic ambitions and performance targets. Continuous improvement and innovation are therefore part of our core mission.

About Studyportals

Studyportals is the international study choice platform, enabling students to find and compare their study options across borders. With over 200,000 published courses from over 3,750 participating HE institutions and over 36 million users in 2019, Studyportals is a leading information source for study seekers. At the same time, the company’s results-based channels help universities with digital marketing, analytics and international student recruitment, by enabling them to reach a global audience and diversify their student population.