The Victoria Forum Webinar: Our shared future in the wake of a global pandemic: Impact on economic, social and environmental divides

Map Unavailable

Date/Time
28 May 2020
12:00 - 13:30

Moderator:

Lord John Alderdice, Professor, The House of Lords (UK)

Panelists:

– Patricia Fuller, Ambassador for Climate Change (Canada)
– Deepak Nayyar, Emeritus Professor of Economics, Jawaharlal Nehru University (India)
– Dr. Aminata Niang, Senior researcher, Initiative Prospective Agricole et Rurale (Senegal)

Date:

Thursday, May 28, 2020

Time: 9:00 AM-10:30 AM (PT), 12:00 PM-1:30 PM (EDT), 4:00 PM-5:30 PM (GMT)

Event Description:

The COVID-19 pandemic will have a broad and long-lasting impact on our economies, health care systems, social systems, the environment and business operations. While the virus has demonstrated our global inter-connectedness, existing divides are becoming starker and isolationism is growing. The future is uncertain, which itself creates new levels of anxiety and mental health challenges. At the same time, we are seeing unexpected positive impacts of the pandemic on the environment in many regions of the world.

This webinar is designed to enrich our collective understanding of the long-term implications of the pandemic and explore innovative solutions in response to it. It will address questions of:

  • What is COVID-19 revealing about the extent to which we are connected or divided?
  • What does this new reality mean for globalization as we have come to know it?
  • How is the global pandemic affecting our economic, social and environmental divides and who is most affected?
  • What knowledge and evidence do we need to help us navigate towards a shared future in which we “build back better”
  • How will we find pathways forward that are informed and developed through engagement of those citizens and communities who are most directly affected?

Register Here: