' ); } ?>

The Psychology of Founding: Business Start-ups from Science and Research

Many European countries like Germany and Sweden are known for their substantial investments into university science and the great inventions these investments yield. However, compared to countries like the US or the UK, they suffer from relatively low engagement of scientists in business startups. This is surprising given that the regulatory environments of these countries and the availability of venture capital have improved considerably over the last years.

Therefore, in this seminar Holger Patzelt introduces the results of a multi-study, multi-year project which has investigated university startup activity with a focus on the psychology of founding new ventures rather than the external context. He illustrates key psychological challenges scientists face when founding new ventures, how problems within the entrepreneurial team can counteract founding intentions and activities, and the role of the university context in shaping scientists’ attitudes toward entrepreneurship. Patzelt will provide specific recommendations for universities how based on the results of our research they can create an environment that may help scientists develop an entrepreneurial mindset.

Date

Tuesday, April 13, 2021

  • 7:30 am Phoenix
  • 10:30 am Washington D.C.
  • 3:30 pm London
  • 4:30 pm Geneva
  • 5:30 pm Cape Town
  • 9:00 pm Mumbai
  • 11:30 pm Singapore

Speaker

  • Holger Patzelt

    Professor of Entrepreneurship
    University of Munich School of Management
    Germany

Registration

This webinar is free of charge. Click the button below to register.