' ); } ?>

Building Community Disaster Resilience: The HUMLOG Challenge

DATE

Monday, October 4, 2021

8:00-9:00 AM EDT

LOCATION

Zoom Meeting

CONTACT

mhandler@gbsn.org

Welcome to the 2021 HUMLOG Challenge Informational/Kick Off Meeting!  This virtual event is specifically designed for students interested in the HUMLOG Challenge and would like to learn more about the opportunity to win the $5,000 scholarship! We are so excited to welcome participating students from all over the world to engage in this unique virtual experience and to develop impactful, locally-relevant solutions to natural disaster problems.  This first webinar will feature a welcome from GBSN’s own CEO, Dan LeClair, as well as from our incredible industry experts and final judges, including Gyöngyi Kovács, Amédée Prouvost, and Armand Bam, Courtney Davis Curtis. Our judges will be providing insight into their own real-world challenges with risk mitigation and community resilience, as well as explaining what they will be looking for in student solutions.  Finally, we look forward to welcoming Maria, Johary, and Diana, our winning team from the 2020 GBSN HUMLOG Challenge!  We will close out this event with a brief Q and A session for students, where they are encouraged to ask questions to last year’s winning team, the judges and the GBSN team!

Moderator

  • Rob Vember

    Senior Advisor, Communications and Membership
    Global Business School Network
    South Africa

Guest Speakers

  • Dan LeClair, Ph.D

    CEO
    Global Business School Network
    USA
  • Gyöngyi Kovács

    Erkko Professor in Humanitarian Logistics
    Hanken School of Economics
    Finland
  • Amédée Prouvost

    Senior Advisor at Chapelle Consulting, Former Chief Operational Risk Officer at the World Bank

    USA
  • Dr. Armand Bam

    Head of Social Impact
    University of Stellenbosch Business School
    South Africa
  • Courtney Davis Curtis

    Assistant Vice President for Risk Management and Resilience Planning
    University of Chicago
    USA

The Winning Team from 2020, Team Los Andes, will also be featured speakers during the kick-off. They will be giving first hand experience from the competition point of view. Access their presentation below.

Learn More about the HUMLOG Challenge

Date

Monday, October 4th, 2021

  • 08:00 AM Washington D.C.
  • 01:00 PM United Kingdom
  • 02:00 PM Geneva
  • 02:00 PM Cape Town
  • 05:30 PM Mumbai
  • 08:00 PM Singapore