' ); } ?>

SONJO: Minimizing the Adverse Health and Economic Impacts of COVID-19 through Social Capital in the Digital Era

DATE

Tuesday, 12 October, 2021

08:00 AM EDT/ 19:00 PM Yogyakarta, Indonesia

LOCATION

Zoom Webinar

CONTACT

mhandler@gbsn.org

Welcome to this very special humanitarian-based webinar hosted by Universitas Gadjah Mada!  Their program SONJO (Sambatan Jogja) is an inspiring humanitarian movement that has operated since 24 March 2020 and is based in a WhatsApp group (WAG).

Today, SONJO consists of 20 internal WAGs and 4 WAGs with other communities in West Java, Jakarta, and Central Java. The SONJO aims to help people at risk and vulnerable people from the adverse impacts of the COVID-19 in the Province of Yogyakarta, Indonesia. SONJO works in three sectors: health, economy, and education. UGM has developed 21 programs consisting of 6 programs in the economy and 14 programs in health. 

In this webinar, the first section will consist of a discussion regarding the health sector, presented by Professor Rimawan Pradiptyo and the second section will be a discussion on the economic sector with Professor Gumilang Aryo Sahadewo.  You won’t want to miss this motivational discussion, as it may not only stimulate student solution development, but may also inspire schools to create their own humanitarian movements!

Speakers

  • Rimawan Pradiptyo

    PhD, Head of the Department of Economics at the Faculty of Economics and Business (FEB)
    Universitas Gadjah Mada
    Indonesia
  • Dr. Gumilang Aryo Sahadewo

    Assistant Professor, Research and Teaching Staff at Faculty of Economics and Business (FEB)
    Universitas Gadjah Mada
    Indonesia

Learn More about SONJO via the presentation linked below:

Date

Tuesday, October 12th, 2021

  • 08:00 AM Washington D.C.
  • 13:00 PM United Kingdom
  • 14:00 PM Geneva
  • 14:00 PM Cape Town
  • 17:30 PM Mumbai
  • 19:00 PM Yogyakarta