Cross-Border Coffee Break Webinar: Designing a Sustainable Business Program

Map Unavailable

Date/Time
10 December 2019
09:00 - 10:00

Location
Zoom Webinar Platform

Overview

Business sustainability is essential to the long-term prosperity of global companies. There is agreement that businesses schools should be offering more research and teaching for students that focus on sustainability, ethics and social purpose. More students aim to make a positive impact in the world and are seeking careers that share these values. Business schools are changing their positioning and services against this new role of business and society. Examples abound of business schools embracing this new and wider role actively. This webinar will dive into the design of the University of Miami Herbert Business School’s sustainable business program.

Dr. Kelly will discuss the development of the STEM-Designated Sustainable Business curriculum at Miami Herbert Business School ,as well as other initiatives taking place at the School including developing a Board of Advisors, hosting speakers, gaining LEED certification and more. Daniel Hicks designed and now oversees the sustainable business program’s core Multidisciplinary Action Project (MAP) course. The MAP places students with sponsoring enterprises throughout the world to address pressing organizational challenges. Students work in teams with guidance from client leaders and faculty advisors to develop actionable and valuable recommendations for client sponsors. During the 2019-2020 program, the MAP is a circular economy initiative with client/sponsor Office Depot in Boca Raton, Florida.

Date

Tuesday, December 10, 2019

  • 8:00am CST (Mexico City)
  • 9:00am EST (Washington D.C.)
  • 3:00pm CET (Paris)
  • 5:00pm EAT (Nairobi)
  • 7:30pm IST (Mumbai)
  • 10:00pm CST (Beijing)

Registration

Cost: FREE

REGISTER HERE

Presenters

Daniel Hicks
Lecturer Economics Department
Miami Herbert Business School

In 2000, UC Berkeley hired Daniel as a senior analyst to modernize campus research communications. His report became a blueprint for the entire UC system and spawned the cable channel, UC TV.In 2005, while covering Hollywood and West Coast business news, Daniel created CNBC’s first-and-only corporate sustainability series sponsored by Japanese carmaker Toyota Motors, oil giant British Petroleum and former NBC Universal parent General Electric.Daniel relocated his management consulting business, Florida Sustainability Partners (FLSP), from California to South Florida in 2012. FLSP provides global expertise to local clients across media, finance and global talent. Anchored at the Miami Herbert Business School, FLSP operates at the frontier of digital communications and sustainable business. Daniel holds academic and professional degrees in political economy, journalism and financial accounting from Columbia University in the City of New York and UCLA, respectively.

 

Dr. David L. Kelly
Professor of Economics
Co-chair of the Sustainable Business Research Cluster
Academic Director of the Master of Science in Sustainable Business
University of Miami Herbert Business School

He was chair of the economics department from 2005-8 and has formerly held positions at the University of California at Santa Barbara and Carnegie Mellon University.  Prof. Kelly has published widely on optimal climate change policy, adaptation to climate change, the design of environmental regulation, the economic impact of hurricanes, and the effect of economic growth on the environment. Research authored/co-authored by Professor Kelly has appeared in leading journals including Science, Nature, the Journal of the Association of Environmental and Resource Economists, and the Journal of Economic Theory. His research has been funded by NSF, DOE, and other federal agencies.   Professor Kelly is an award-winning teacher with over 20 years of classroom experience at the undergraduate, masters, and Ph.D. level.